All These Things...

By Joestockdale

Sunset On Keldas

"Well, I dreamed I saw the silver spaceships flying
In the yellow haze of the sun
There were children crying and colors flying
All around the chosen ones
All in a dream, all in a dream
The loading had begun
Flyin' mother nature's silver seed
To a new home in the sun" Neil Young, After the Gold Rush.

After a couple of hours of hiking and taking photos around Keldas fell we stopped to shelter from the huge hail stones under a fallen tree, perfect cover. I stepped back out into the rain to see this incredible light break shining over the Grassings and valley. The hail stones slowly turned to rain and I saw the sun going down the back of Striding edge. Once the sky's cleared up a bit it suddenly got really cold so we had to get back to Glenridding, which took quite a while as the views on the way back were amazing.

For this shot I merged two photos together using layer masks, one for the sun and the other for everything else. I also used an aperture smaller than F13 to achieve the star effect from the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.