Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Christmas Day - Millennium Stadium

The wife was up and out for her bank holiday shift and I was on call from about 9am, so by 8.15am I was in Cardiff to get a photograph I've been after for a while. It's one of Wales Millennium Stadium with a view of the River Taff. At the top you can see Cardiff Bay and in the Bristol Channel the Flat Holme and Steep Holme Islands.

On the way back home I was surprised at the number of joggers.

Just after 10am I got a call out to deliver blood between hospitals in Newport a couple of hundred metres apart! A quick job at double time - that's what Christmas working is all about! On the way back I was struck by the number of people visiting the main cemetry. A time for remembering.

Mid-day the step-son, Nathan, who is a HGV fitter was on call, picked me up to take me to the local pub for a couple of drinks before a late Christmas meal with the family. The step daughter was also on call but alas all was quiet. The pub in our village is very old and unique. The landlady is about 90 and the pub is decked out like a front room. The prices are cheap. By the time we left it was packed!

Well, I can say that I've eaten well.  I'm on call tomorrow so will be getting an early night. A lovely sunny enjoyable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.