this luminous life.

By Laura

Flames Have Destroyed.

The Unseen.

A fire raged in our apartment building during the midnight hour on Saturday, destroying most of the residences. Fortunately for Chiara & I, our apartment suffered the least amount of damages because we were on the top floor, but some of the other tenants weren't so lucky. It saddened me to hear/see their cries and screams.

I saw the building for the first time this morning since I was at Nicole's/Kyle's for the weekend. The apartment behind ours was demolished. Just three feet away from our back door. I imagine it was worse on the lower floors. All but one tenant and a few pets were out of town during the blaze. Not fun to come home and see your home is gone...

We did most of the moving out this morning. We have to find another place to live. I'm glad we're OK. And our things. Kind of bummed I missed the action... ha.

Two links to the story online:
chicago tribune -- quick article.
someone's blog.

Oh. And I back blipped for the past two days.

[A year ago today... Mediaeval Baebes.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.