Beeeze

By beeeze

A little wisdom after 1095 days

Three years. It still amazes me that I made it past the first month.

                             ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I've discovered that I can actually keep to a project. And enjoy it. If I can do it, anyone can. Because I am very easily distrac... ooh shiny.

Quite early on I did the short OU T189 course on digital photography and can now find my way around a camera with a certain amount of confidence although I'd definitely not put myself in the experienced class just yet. It's definitely worth considering if you would like to improve beyond the very basics.

I now have an abiding and utter love of macro photography and will always choose the macro route over any other. I used to worry about boring people due to always posting the same 'kind' of photos but after three years I care less about what other people think and do what pleases me the most.

As a direct result of my involvement and development from using Blip my food photographs have illustrated a cook book. I did write it, it's true, but it's a 'proper' published book and I am extremely proud of it.

Having to keep to the daily commitment of finding something to photograph is sometimes a joy and sometimes the biggest pain in the neck. My journal definitely reflects this! Some of my photographs fill me with real pride, others are best left unmentioned... but the truth is that the journal isn't about how good or bad your photography is. It is a daily record of your life just like any other and just as valuable and precious when you take a moment to look back. 

I struggle to find really good subjects in the winter though, I'm not able to yomp across the moors etc. so bleak landscapes don't really feature. If the winter is a 'good' one I am never happier than when I'm doing macro frost or snow. More often than not in my pyjamas because I'll be making a cup of tea in the early hours and think ooh... frost... I'll just... then an hour later I wonder why the tea has gone cold. And I know very well that I'm not alone in this one!

Today I am still making owls - never been known to do anything in moderation. A month or so ago I had to teach myself to crochet because I needed some snowflakes to dangle from the hat I made for my granddaughter. And now I am slightly obsessed with the art of hooking (it will pass eventually I'm sure). This little chap is only 3cm tall and will dangle from a keyring I think, the photo doesn't do him justice unfortunately. I have discovered superfine crochet cotton and very small hooks and really like the things you can make with it. So repeatedly doing a simple pattern like this is really good for learning to make neat even stitches. Plus it means I can watch tv without feeling guilty because I'm not 'doing something' :)

Roll on tomorrow and the start of my fourth year. Maybe this year I will set a few monthly challenges to keep me on my toes... Hmmm.... I think I like the sound of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.