MrP's Grand Day Out

A day for a cycle! So where better than out along the canal to Linlithgow. I was a bit nervous at first as the bike has pretty firm slick tyres, but it seemed that the towpath was just frosty and frozen puddles could be easily avoided. That was the risk analysis done. No danger.
Somewhere past Winchburgh I suddenly ran into freezing fog and at the same time the path became a bit rutted and narrower ..and frozen. I should have slowed a bit more, though as the front wheel slid to the right and I came down to the left, it all seemed quite slow enough. And of course, there was no way of stopping as I whalloped onto the edge of the bank and head first through the thin ice. Brrrrrr! That was a wake up, I'll tell you. At least it wasn't too deep - just mid-chest height and somehow I managed to haul myself up and out. Luckily there was no one about to witness my folly. Unluckily I was 15 miles from home, soaked and frozen. So, I wrung out what I could and gingerly set off home. Ha, ha. What an eejit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.