Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

200 godwits to mark 200 blips

It wasn't the blip I had planned to mark the occasion but that's the beauty of blip. You can change your mind if something better or different comes up.
Just as well BlipCentral is on the ball.  I would have no idea otherwise what number I was up to.
The other day I got my first godwit photo. I sent it off to the local expert and casually asked where and when would I go to see them in bigger numbers.
Near Harbour Road or the Old Wharf, two hours before and after the tide, was her suggestion. Otherwise out on the sandspit at high tide.
As luck would have it 7am this morning was two hours after the tide and there they were just waiting for me. They string out along the edge of the water and I couldn't fit the 200 in but this is a fair representation of them. It was so calm and peaceful. I sat on an old tree stump and caught them flying-but all at a distance. So this is a landscape as well which is one of my favourite things to try and photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.