Terns Stopover...

To quote from our local rag The Timaru Herald....

Hundreds of Arctic terns line the yacht club jetty on the north mole in the Timaru port area.. The Arctic tern (sterna paradisaea), a seabird, enjoys two summers each year, migrating from its northern breeding grounds to the oceans around Antarctica a nd back - a round trip of about 70,000 km.

After reading this in the paper this morning, I thought it could be worth a look, I wasn't disappointed.....there were hundred of them, mostly preening and snoozing, lots of pooing but some flying too. Here is one coming into land on the jetty. I don't know how long they will stay or which way they are heading, possibly to the Northern Hemisphere I expect.

Darn it !!!
I have just had a phone call from our astro photographer from our club asking if we should do the star trails tonight, (the evening was cancelled on tuesday because of nasty weather) the skys here are clear and its not too cold. If I manage to get anything half decent I will load into my blip folio tomorrow.....watch this space!!
I like my terns too much to not keep them here.

Thanks for all the faves etc on my Nireen from yesterday, I really appreciate you stopping by.

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.