Decorating Baubles

Uncle D bought the Little Misses a chocolate bauble each complete with icing and hundreds-and-thousands to decorate them with. This is their perfect gift - edible craft!!
Mr K went to work this morning which came as a bit of a shock to the system. Probably his more than mine as he set off into the freezing darkness at 6.30am!
The Little Misses and I had pancakes for a late breakfast and then set off to Milton Keynes.
It was awful this morning, Miss E got really upset that all she had got for Christmas was books and no toys. While not strictly speaking true she did have a point. Father Christmas and I both went a little overboard with books and, while she does love her books, I realised once everything was opened that she is only six and still loves her toys.
It made me want to cry I felt so awful. She wasn't being whingey or stroppy just sad and confused. Horrible.
So we headed off to Milton Keynes to spend some Christmas money. In toy shops!!!
First of all she wanted to go to Build-a-Bear. I thought for accessories but they decided to get a couple of new toys each. Miss E got Little Carrot  the rabbit and Miss L got Timmy  the monkey. And they bought a chair bed each for their toys (what self respecting toy doesn't have a pink velour chair bed?!) and Miss L got a pair of pink sparkly shoes.
I've never actually done Build-a-Bear before just dropped them off for parties so it was all a new experience for me.
As we were queuing I discovered I'd forgotten my credit card so only had their Christmas money from Nanny and Great Nan. I kept totting up the total in my head because having queued for hours I didn't want to find I couldn't pay for it!
Miss E had taken Toothless with her - to show him where he was born! - and several people commented on him and how lucky she was to have him. The lady at the till said hardly a day went by that someone didn't call to see if they had any in stock. Apparently they're selling for up to £90 on eBay. I won't be able to sneakily list him though - it's the her favourite toy in the world! The first one she's been properly attached to. She was distraught to discover she'd forgotten to take him to Centerparcs.
We had enough money for a ride on the huge Christmas carousel outside John Lewis. They had it to themselves and loved it.
As they were whizzing round I realised our parking had run out and as soon as they got off grabbed all our hundreds of bears and boxes and bags and told them to run for the car!
As we got close I saw a traffic warden approaching my car. I screeched "Oh no!!!" and we all skedaddled out into the car park. All in different directions!
I suddenly realised that the possibility of a £70 fine wasn't really worth them getting squashed by one of the many cars involved in the free-for-all hunt for a space chaos. So I called them back to me, grabbed their hands and speed walked to my car, getting there before the warden, whipping the expired ticket off the dashboard and getting them in. Phew!
We then headed to ToysRUs. It was their first visit and they were in awe! We were in there for hours looking at everything.
They only had a few pounds left but managed to find some birds that tweet and whistle when you sing and whistle at them. Marvellous!
I've promised Miss E that we will go back before her birthday and next Christmas so she can give us ideas about what she wants and write a list to give Father Christmas some more ideas.
I'm so cross with myself for making her miserable. Just a few toys and she'd have been happy. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.