Fun in the Fens

By Jimbofin

The Old Butcher's

So another year has flown by. And away from blipfoto it has been an incredible year. I visited twelve countries and spoke at conferences on four continents. I had a great time just before Xmas looking through my photos on Flickr.  https://www.flickr.com/photos/jimbofin/ Then we come to blipfoto. Oh dear. It just hasn’t worked for me this year, and that was before the makeover that seems to have removed all the things I loved about it.


I’ve posted some photos that individually I thought were strong, but I’ve not developed any sort of theme this year.


I guess a lot of things are to blame. Walking the dogs continues to lead to a high proportion of PICS - Poodle Induced Camera Shake. My wife no longer works weekends and that means it is harder for me to sneak off alone to hunt for photos. Then I’ve also changed both of my cameras this year. The TZ40 has proved to be an excellent travel camera, but whilst having access to GPS, WiFi and a large zoom range are all very useful it doesn't quite have the feel of the D-Lux that somehow encouraged me to be more thoughtful even about grab shots.


Then there is the XE1. Clearly my relationship with it is still evolving. Something as simple as changing the camera strap to a Peak Slide has made a real difference, especially when combined with their interchangeable Cuff. So has leaving the 27mm prime on most of the time. So maybe it is time I reverted to my original approach here shooting purely B&W  in 1:1 format and got some discipline back in to my approach.

Or perhaps it is just time to move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.