River Alne

This is the River Alne a bit further upstream from where we live, but is still only about 500 metres away. Part of the river gets diverted at this point, towards Alne Mill., where many years ago it was used to run the watermill. The mill was converted some years ago into several expensive flats. If the water was not needed at the mill, the sluice gates would be opened and the water would just run down its normal course (as it is doing here - you can see what appears to be two separate sources of water coming down).

A quiet day, catching up on the accounts of our local memorial hall, as it is the end of the quarter (talk about a busman's holiday!). Not that we had the slightest hint of a hangover - I was in bed by about 10:30 pm and I think C turned in before midnight also. These days I need to have a couple of early nights first if I know I'm going to be up late!

This afternoon we took our two boys (Bedlingtons)  to see the couple who will be looking after them when we go on holiday in a few weeks time. Thankfully, they all got on really well, and I think our boys will see it as their holiday too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.