Northern Star

By Lifferz

Solitary and bleak

Started foggy and has since stayed grey.

I finally got around to watching Hitchcock's Rope last night for the first time. I can imagine it is decent as a stage play. A very simple concept for a suspense story and surprisingly focused (or do I mean narrow?) I really loved how the camera angles were used to focus on important stuff in the room, building the suspense rather than watching what the main characters were doing as they spoke. I guess Hitchcock was breaking the mould when he did that.

I'm still feeling very skeptical about this Blipfoto/ Polaroid partnership. I like to think that I am usually more adaptable than most to change but I am rather worried that what was a friendly and relatively small community where you often saw familiar names and photo-styles is suddenly going to expand into a world wide phenomenon which is less cosy and increasingly unfamiliar. It's all starting to feel quite commercial. I'm unhappy I can't order a blip book and save my last years worth of blips in hard form. I'm so glad I didn't take out the life-time membership, not that I was too tempted at the time. If I had I think I'd be feeling a little naffed off right now. I plan to stick around for the immediate future to see what happens and to hope that all the little problems and glitches get ironed out.

Plan for the rest of the day is emptying all my cupboards and the wardrobe and deciding which things to keep and which to sell on ebay. An early spring clean and re-organise to start the year :-) If there is time left I plan to make some orange shortbread. It's a recipe I haven't attempted since I was about 9. My best friend at the time cooked the recipe to perfection in my opinion (as part of a regional competition for a youth organisation we were in). In my attempts to show her how amazing it was, after spending lots of time trying to blag a biscuit off her, I threw my head back and clocked myself on a structural metal girder, it sort of marred the whole taste experience :-/ Head throwing will be avoided at all costs this time around!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.