Scribbler

By scribbler

"Oh, what a tangled web"

A tangle of rubber bands on a woven coaster.

On New Year's Eve I posted a reflection on love and forgiveness.
I neglected to add the wish that we love and forgive ourselves.

I forgive myself for getting embroiled in the tangle of changes at Blipfoto.
I forgive myself for doing this at the expense of The Novel, 
of artmaking and journaling, and of precious people in my life.

For over a year I have been wondering 
what Joe Blip had up his sleeve.
That's why I chose not to become a life member.
Now we know at least a part of it. 
Many changes have been made, without our permission, 
in how we 'do business' with one another. 

We are in the hands of two corporate entities, Blipfoto and Polaroid,
with a significant investment to be recouped. 
Neither of them is a public corporation. They disclose nothing.
Some of you, having made an emotional commitment to this site,
will find that cognitive dissonance keeps you from seeing 
the extent of the problems we are experiencing. 
To me they appear significant. 

I have been making a sincere effort to help with this changeover.
I have spent many hours on bugs, interface issues, and design flaws.
I hereby resign from a job I never wanted.

I'm prepared to forgive the messiness of the New Blip design 
and its careless implementation.
But as my spiritual director cautioned me, 
Forgiving does not mean you're required to let the same situation
repeatedly afflict you.
Blipfoto has been a daily pleasure. Right now it's more of an affliction.

I will check back by the end of the month 
to see what state things are in.
If bugs are fixed and the interface looks promising, I'll happily return
to my photographic practice and my scribbles and you lovely blippers.

I hope you'll forgive my absence.
Until then, best wishes. Over and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.