We got lunch because we booked.

We had a most enjoyable  lunch with friends at Loch Fyne Oysters today.   They were on their way from Loch Melfort after a break and it was a good place to meet up.  

I hadn't been for some time and it was excellent.  However I thought I would blip it because as we walked in I was reminded of a famous political meeting held here , the so called "Oyster Summit" which - when I looked it up - I was amazed to discover took place over ten years ago. 

The point of the title of this blip comes from the story.  We didn't have to have our very pleasant conversation in the car.  

In addition to the good  food, they have some great quotes on the wall.  I particularly like two : the alleged remark from his Inveraray Bank manager when Johnny Noble went to him with the idea in 1978 ("Everybody has to have a hobby , Mr Noble ") and the Gaelic saying "Nach urramach an cuan " - how worthy of honour is the sea - which used to sit behind the counter of the deli as well.   That has always seemed to me a wonderfully appropriate motto for the place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.