Stamens

Well, well, didn't my earlier presbyterian pessimism about paying for that uncharacteristic summer snap we had back in late March/ early April come true?

We have yet another cold wet day with temperatures akin to towns within the Arctic circle.
With umbrellas and anorak hoods up against the chill rain outside, there was no way I was going further than the gym, there to while away the hours and achieve the level of glow that might be acquired on a sun soaked beach somewhere hot, although I would accept warm.

Once more my poor primulas are lying under an inch of water in their tubs and the Japanese maple is looking distinctly sorry for itself with most of its leaves frostbitten and wind chilled.
At least we don't have the snow they have further north. Perhaps I should be grateful for that.

This detail of stamens in my blip is from the beautiful lilies gifted by Barrioboy and Digitaldaze on their Monday visit to the Dower House , and which are just beginning to open and brighten the gloom inside the house.

I am allowing myself a smidgin of optimism when I see the forecast in the paper with a sun symbol over Edinburgh on Monday; but I won't be too disappointed if that turns out to be wrong again. Pessimism is never far away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.