Mr John

By MrJohn

3-D .....

..... Photography.

I realised today that I have so far uploaded 60 blips and not yet mentioned 3-D photography. I've had an interest in 3-D film and photography from a very young age. like most children of the 70s and 80s I first encountered 3-D photography through a viewmaster viewer.

In my early teens I became interested in the idea of taking three dimensional photographs myself. I was a fairly geeky ( in the days before the chic was added to geek ) kid and used to visit the Royal College of Art's (sadly now no longer existing ) holography department. I also became a member of the Stereoscope Society of Great Britain for a few years. I think I must have been their youngest member as whenever I went along to any of their meetings all the other members seemed to be men in their 50's and 60's looking at 'arty images' of naked ladies, with all the appropriate parts standing out being projected in 3-D on to a big silver screen.

All of this was pre digital and I spent a lot of my spare time experimenting with 8mm cine film cameras and taking pairs of photos on slide film so that I could project them through polarised filters after the long wait for them to return from the processors. I also collected a lot of stereoscopes and 3-D vievers and cards. Today's blip is a very small part of that collection.

To view this image in 3-D you need to use the cross eye technique explained here, or if you have a pair of anaglyph 3-D glasses ( red and green/blue lenses ) I have put an anaglyph version of this photo in my blipfolio. As it's been a while since I've dabbled with 3-D, todays blip is .....


..... 3-D photography.

Post script.

Apparently a wee dram of whisky before viewing helps to see the image in 3-D
( Thanks for the top tip Reddleman )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.