My Great Success Story

By SavvyStereo

Croatia Day 4: Hvar by Car

In the morning we asked Luka what he recommended we should do. His answer was to hire a 'buggy'. We weren't too sure what he meant by that but followed him to the hire place anyway.

After some heated debate in Croatian between Luka and the guy with the 'buggys' he told us we could have the one for something like 7 hours for just £20 each, or something about that, including petrol.

We came back later and he brought us out a VW Beetle! Now, I knew that, being 18, I wasn't technically allowed to hire a car in Croatia but they seemed pretty relaxed and I couldn't pass this opportunity.

For the whole afternoon / early evening we explored Hvar island, Hvar town down the coast and across the island to Starigrad. Then to Jelsa, and then across the island, through a ridiculous tiny hand built tunnel and down a steep twisty road to, what I think was Zavala.

On the way back we took a different route, that Luka had recommended, through the mountains back down to Hvar town. I was driving the whole way. Courtney was freaking out as it was my first time driving on the right hand side of the road, in a left hand drive, on a car that was undoubtably older than I am, had no left indicator (had to stick my hand out of the window), with steep drops by the side of the (thin) roads.

I loved the car, it was great. This photo was taken when we stopped on our way back, somewhere around Brusje I believ. We walked around a bit and bought lavender (they make a lot there).

Uploaded 18/05/2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.