Rodda's Clash t-shirt

I walked to our local early this afternoon in the hope of meeting with this gentleman, Rodda Thomas, the landlord of the Crown and Sceptre.  I had promised my colleagues that as I live only two hundred yards from the pub I would go round to see him.

I am helping with the arrangements for the Stroud Film Festival which will be spread over two weeks in March this year.  Rodda had offered to provide the pub as a venue for one of the evening events and I wanted to check that what we are hoping to arrange will be technically possible.  

We want to tie in the announcement of the Stroud Community TV awards, as well as announcing and showing the winning entry for the special Stroud Short Film Awards for films made locally in the last year.  The theme of the whole festival is loosely based around the creative arts and music.

Stroud Community TV is a website which provides links to online videos made by or about local people or issues, and each year they have awards for certain categories.  Philip B. organises it and I helped to get it going a few years ago and there are now more than 1500 videos linked on the website.

Rodda is now looking forward to the event and he showed me the equipment in one of the bars which will work very well for our needs.  As we finalised the details I asked if I could take a picture of his t-shirt, showing the single of '(White man) in the Hammersmith Palais'  as I really liked the Clash and even managed to see them play at the Palais back in the late 1970s.  Rodda took me around to show me various other music ephemera that decorates his pub, which he has made into a fantastic local, which has itself won awards locally for being the 'best community pub' according to Cotswold Life magazine.  Cheers, Rodda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.