The Peanut Story

Well, the Peanut Story starts with a batch of ice cream...

Back in seventh grade, I remember making ice cream in science class. The ice cream ingredients went into a small bag then the small bag went into a big bag with ice and rock salt. We shook it for 10-15 minutes and it was ice cream! Now wouldn't that be a fun activity for my Thai friends, I thought, especially on a hot summer day. So the night before, Michelle and I gave it a test run.

We shook and shook. We shook some more until our hands were bright red from the ice. We shook until there all the ice had melted and puddled on the floor. Then we opened the bags. We had....soup. And not even thick soup. I guess it's too hot to make ice cream like this here. (?)

So we put the bags in the freezer, mopped up the mess, and started to make new plans for Girl's Night. This is when the peanuts came in.

Most bulk peanuts you buy in Thailand are raw (at least in our area.) They are eatable, but not as flavorful. I have roasted them in the oven before, but without an oven now, I used what we had...a wok. After roasting them for about 15 minutes, I had these delicious, toasted morsels. A little more black than usual, but they still taste good. Maybe we'll use them as toppings for our ice cream night. (If we can figure out how to make ice cream here.)

Hopefully a success picture will follow soon! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.