Vicky's View

By vivaciousvix

Let there be light!

The dreaded tramworks strike again!

Today I am very grateful for electricity, because for most of yesterday we didn't have any!

We had the first power cut at 9am. Oh well, I thought, it will be back on soon. And an hour later, power was restored!

At 12.45pm all the power went off again. How annoying, but an hour later it came back on. I'd just gone round the flat setting everything back to the right time and surprise, surprise the power went off for a third time!

By now I was totally unamused and rang the emergency hotline. "Oh yes, there's a fault in your area, our engineers are working on it and power should be restored by 6pm".

Just before 6pm I was told that it was taking longer than they thought and should be back on again by 8pm. Whilst having this conversation I was watching the power company vans parked by the tramworks across the road, and lots of men huddled under umbrellas in the pouring rain, peering into a hole that had been dug in the last half an hour. "Is it anything to do with the tramworks"? I asked the person on the other end of the phone. "Err.....it doesn't say anything about that in my notes...."

Thankfully everything was back and working again just before 8pm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.