MY PLAN WAS TO FIND OUT

if the swans eggs were broken. But before I got to the nest I saw the grebe in the big pond. There had been a nest and therefore I looked intently at her. Suddenly I discovered the little head out of the feathers at the back of the parent. The little one was sitting upon her. I stared and stared. The sunlight came from the wrong side, but nevertheless I started to take pictures. After some time I moved to the other side of the pond and that gave a new perspective, so I kept making photos.
The other parent came near too and started fishing, caught a big one, gave some to the baby and swallowed the rest of it.
The water in the pond is very clear and for the first time I saw the grebe swim swiftly under water. An amazing sight.
One or two times the parent jumped up and let the baby fall in the water, very soon she climbed or tried to climb back and swam around the parent in frenzy and succeeded well.
In the afternoon Mischa came back from an excursion in the dunes and of course I wanted her to see the grebe family. So together we walked to the pond. The sun shone from west now and we both enjoyed the sight and took pictures.

My haiku:

An overflow of
New born creatures small faces
Wonder where they landed

And the proverb:

Every baby born into the world is a finer one than the last



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.