An Uneasy Truce

There was a columnist for the San Francisco Chronicle named Jon Carroll who wrote a daily column about whatever came into his head, including his cats. He said his mail was evenly divided between those who loved his cat columns and those who hated them. He compromised by promising that whenever he was going to write about his cats, he would begin with a notification to that effect so that those who didn't like cat columns would not be required to read further.

Often, his warnings were even funnier than the column itself, which I happened to like. My favorite was when he wrote about his odd friend who would come to the door, but then not want to come in, or would come in for a minute and then go back out again…and then want to come in again. It wasn't until one had been totally taken in, that it would become obvious that this was another cat column warning. I admit I can be pretty credulous sometimes….

If you are not interested in reading yet another story about dogs, I do understand. Please feel under no obligation to read further when you see a dog picture here….

Of course, I don't always write about the dogs….

do thank all of you who find the time to read my blips, comment on them and for all the stars and favorites. I appreciate every one of you, even if I am having trouble keeping track on the 'new Blip'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.