StroudWomble

By StroudWomble

Myrtiotissa

We holiday a lot in Greece and in particular in Corfu. On the east coast of this beautiful island is this tiny beach called Myrtiotissa, a real hidden gem that sadly is getting smaller each year with winter storms washing away sand. 

Lawrence Durrell author and poet wrote about Myrtiotissa beach and described it as 'Possibly the most beautiful beach in the world', his family lived in Corfu and his brother Gerald Durrell wrote the wonderful book 'My family and other animals' describing their time in Corfu.

I drew this picture in 2008, most years I try to draw the beach or at least some view of our holiday as a reminder. The beach is set against large cliffs, the sand is so fine and almost white and there are huge large monolithic rocks on the beach which is what I have drawn here against the sea edge. I'm up to my ears in decorating hence the lack of posting my blips, but fear not, I ALWAYS take the blip photo each day and I am going to upload them all tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.