Friday Foto

By drmackem

Simon's Seat Racing Lines

Well blip fellows, I'm somewhat overwhelmed by your stars, and hearts and comments for yesterdays 200th Blip. Your are all lovely beyond words!.

Today there was a race out of Appletreewick (Appletrick to you off cumm'd 'uns) with a bit of a difference, and given that I've said on these pages only 10 days ago, that it was about time I got out and raced after the misery of last years persistent injury, not even the damp, grey forbidding start today was going to keep me back.

The race was straight forward enough, Out of Appletreewick, along the Dales way for about a mile then a up and up for about a 1000ft to Simon's Seat then back again. The difference was that a couple from the organising club were getting married today. The Bride to be in her first wedding outfit, set off a little while before the rest of us, and we had to catch her! (though I wasn't sure what we supposed to do when we did?). The groom thankfully did before the maurading hoards. There was promised cake at the top, which I didn't see - so maybe she ate it all. 100 yards from the finish a pint of ale (smaller measures on request) was handed to the runners, who had to drink before completing the race. We all had so much fun, and the happy couple were having a great time. I haven't posted a photo of the bride, she'll look much better scrubbed up and without mud on her face later on today I'm sure.

I just loved the edge that comes with racing and that the fell racing community don't take themselves too seriously most of the time. (well Holmsey turned up and bagged the course record while the rest of us had a good time). For you runners out there, - overtook 20 on the ascent and let 8 past on the descent (I descended the steep bit like a road runner or Bamib on ice). Not sure where I was at in terms of fell fitness setting off I passed on old adversary 200 metres from the finish and he was never going to catch me up downing a pint of the brown stuff.

My dedication to blip is demonstrated by this photo, I lost 2 hard earned places taking this shot so here you have Simon's Seat from the heart of battle (but local knowledge helped me pick up another 10 before turning at the top of Simon's seat).

I really must do something useful now before anyone notices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.