Spillway

It's been a pretty full on week, and I have to admit I'm feeling a bit tired  - thank goodness it's nearly the weekend. This morning was spent at a meeting with the Wildlife Trust to discuss a couple of next year's survey projects, while this afternoon our computer man visited, and sorted out the wireless internet, which had been playing up since Christmas. He's also going to upgrade the fan in my computer as it keeps cutting out when I do a lot of processing in Lightroom.

I managed to sneak out for a quick breath of fresh air just before sunset (which is now at 4.23pm!) and was surprised to see that the river levels were very high and water was just beginning to spill over into the Rowing Lake. Gulls always like to feed here,  picking off small fish and invertebrates that get caught in the flow. I made my way across and walked down the edge of the lake, where I was lucky enough to have some really good views of a kingfisher catching fish from willow trees on the edge of the lake. Unfortunately light levels were far too low to get any decent photographs, but the experience was magical just the same.I didn't stay out very long, as it was bitterly cold, but by the time I came back the flow of water over the weir was much stronger and I got somewhat damp feet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.