crabtree

By crabtree

Into the white!

Had a really enjoyable day up in the Brecons today. I feel extra satisfied as I was umming and ahing about whether to go or not: I had checked out the weather and it looked promising, but when I looked out of the window it was tipping it down and I wasn't feeling too enthused about going up a big hill in the rain. Throwing caution to the wind I donned the waterproofs and arrived to a completely snow covered Brecon Beacons, no wind and no rain, hurrah! 

This was the only bit of light I got on the way up, and the top was covered in cloud so I made the most of it before putting the camera away and heading up. I had never experienced a 'white out' before and thought I may as well have a look! Turns out a white out is like a strange ghostly realm where you can't see anything and get a bit disorientated! It is a little disconcerting when distinguishing between the edge of a cliff and the sky becomes difficult so after having some lunch in a cloud I came down through the falling snow. 

A great day out and also good to test the water before Bivying up there, but more on that another time!

Into the white!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.