Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... A spunkette?

As you know, a few days ago, in the midst of the colonoscopy hoopla, Spunky the Chipmunk came around to cheer me up and take my mind of eating. He seems to live in a huge old tree on a ridge next to our house and his favorite hangout is on a couple of huge limestone rocks next to the tree. So, imagine my surprise when hubs rather calmly informed "Honey, I just saw a chipmunk run into your pots on the patio. " Uh oh. That doesn't sound like the shy Spunky at all. A few minutes later, I saw the little suspect running all over the patio in a panic - and he was quite a bit smaller than Spunky. He found his way to Spunky's rock pile and proceeded to eat what appeared to be a peanut (no doubt something the blue jays dropped in their haste to carry 4,000 peanuts in one trip.) He let me get very close (this shot isn't cropped) and snap off a bunch of shots. I wonder if he is a Spunkette? Did our little Spunky have kids this year? Is this Spunky, Jr?

Ah, the mysteries of nature.

I've got to hustle off and cook dinner - grilled pork tenderloin, asparagus, and a baby kale salad. And I think either a nice Pinot Noir or perhaps a crisp Savignon Blanc... Hey, it's Saturday!

I'm behind on journals, but will catch up tonight/tomorrow. Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Thanks so much for sending my little swallow to the front page of Spotlight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.