POO'S PERIODICAL

I got a classical flying shot of this White Heron Egtretta Elba, (or Kotuku) but I liked the reflection of this one so it made todays cut.

The Egretta Alba is rare in NZ but is found throughout temperate regions of the world. We get all excited here when wee see one and I was very pleased with my Close encounter of this one today. Paul Gibson in his book BIRDS NZ reckons on there opnly being 200 here in NZ.

They breed only on the West Coast of the South Island but disperse places North at this time of year. I've seen them at the Firth of thames ( Miranda) just out of Auckland and I've also had close encounters at Lake Ellesmere just out of Christchurch. Very pleased with this encounter today and I'm wondering if this bird ( a hen I think ) will stay for a while.
We'll see.

rgds Poo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.