CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

On Cheltenham's Promenade

I had a sore throat last night and wondered whether I was succumbing to a bug caught from any one of several people I've been in contact with recently.  It was very cold this morning with a white coating across the land, partly frost, partly a sprinkling of snow.  But I was pleased to find my throat no worse and so set off to drive to Cheltenham as planned because I had to exchange a shirt before  the deadline date.

I enjoyed the drive along the line of the Cotswold escarpment and was on the lookout for possible blips.  I managed to park quite close to the centre of the town and walked to the Promenade to find the shop.  But it was my hip that played up today and I found it a real struggle to walk very far at all.  So instead of having a long walk around town to both shop and explore I just stayed in the town centre. 

I popped into the London Camera Exchange and had a look at second hand lenses and then walked out and found this statue at one end of the parade of shops at the North end of the Municipal Office gardens.

'The War Memorial memorial takes the form of a brass figure of a Boer War soldier with arms reversed standing on a marble-white plinth that bears the neames and inscription in black lettering. The memorial was unveiled 17th July 1907 by General Sir Ian Hamilton. The names are ordered by rank and regiment. The names on the front are of those who died and on the side panels those who served.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.