The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

P is for ... Ponty! Ponty! Ponty!

There's birthdays and then there are birthdays you will remember for a long long time.

Today was most definitely one of those days!

The day started as nearly all birthdays start ... in bed with a cup of tea opening presents and cards. My brother and Dawn had clubbed together and bought me the Immersion Box Set for Pink Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon ... possibly the closest anyone has got to an album of musical perfection in my opinion. So P was going to be for Pink Floyd this morning, and would have been a nice tie in with my birthday blip from last year (click the thumbnail in the bottom right hand corner).

We then went into Cardiff to see the peeps at RSPB Cymru HQ. I took a box of cookies in .. blimey it was like a Gannet colony feeding frenzy! ;o)

Had a lovely half hour or so with them all. I feel truly blessed to have made some good friends there, and I get some lovely comments about my blogs, which is always nice to receive. I have another couple of volunteering duties lined up with them over the coming month or so that sound great fun, and I can't wait.

From there we wandered over to Cardiff Civic Centre to have a look at the Peregrines nesting on the clock tower (another P is for blip I could have done), we got some lovely views of the chick in the nest. I hope to pop back down there and have another look over the coming weeks.

After lunch and couple of pints, we had wander around Cardiff Museum and then it was on to the main event of the day ... Ponty v Llanelli for the league title play off final. Having won the league once, we now had to win a game to get the trophy (I still hate play offs!).

I didn't take the A77 with me, which was just as well, as by the time ended it was monsoon conditions and it would have got wrecked! Tonight was one of the reasons I bought the WX7, and I love the panorama function of it!

The game itself was a tense, damp, mistake littered affair, but utterly enthralling. Both teams went at it hammer and tongs, with Ponty raising their game after their disappointing Cup Final defeat.

It was a repeat of last years final, and with a remarkable sense of Deja Vu Ponty got a red card again. This time we held out, and a remarkable ten minute rear guard action against an onslaught from Llanelli meant we ran out 15-13 winners. The tears began to flow in the grandstand, and the voice packed in completely! It put the sweetest icing on a simply incredible day!#

And here's a little bit of video from the grandstand of us lifting the trophy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.