Hopping around!

By Harebell

Pond Life (Or Not)

The 'Dragonfly Centre' was open at Wicken Fen this afternoon. The weather was freezing cold. A hardy 'dragonfly centre' helper came over when he saw us staring in the pond. Apparently there had been a couple of larvae but one had disappeared. Stare in, as I might, I couldn't see the remaining one.

I did like the Christmas tree like pond plants, though. Larger pond life.

We also found the 'Fen Man's Workshop' which had an interesting display of paraphernalia including dead ducks (yeuch!) and some old dead moles (double yeuch!)

More hearty types were taking a boat trip, I think that would be a good thing to do, however, maybe in less arctic conditions. There was a big swan who wasn't too chuffed at the boat returning to his boarding deck, and he got a bit pecky.

My stiff neck is going to prevent me from doing the Sunday ironing, every cloud has a silver lining, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.