A jewel

Half day today, and I went to Billingshurst to collect some wonderful clothing 'finds' I had put by in the local charity shop!  I was well pleased, 5 new outfits for £25!!
On the way home I stopped off along the road (as you do) to photograph some quite photogenic fields, and I noticed this little Periwinkle Vincia  major flower growing in the hedgerow.  
It was so heart warming to see this wonderful blue colour amongst the greens and browns of late winter I felt I just had to get a shot of it for my blip.
Vincia major is native to the Western Mediterranean, and this one is almost certainly a garden escapee. It is very similar to the smaller Lesser periwinkle vincia minor, but unlike V. minor has hairy margins to the leaves ( it does, I cropped the shot and checked).
Garden escapee or not, it certainly made my day! sooo good to be back doing macro shots again :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.