Watch the birdie

I joined a bird watching group today as I know very little about birds. We arrived at the local nature reserve at 9.30 on what was probably the coldest morning of the year so far. I took this photo soon after we arrived but then sadly the camera 'froze' with the zoom fully extended so bang went any idea of having lovely blips to post.

We saw lots of water birds but my interest at the moment is the common birds that you might see in the garden. By the feeders I concentrated on the tits and now feel reasonably confident about the difference between blue, great and long tailed varieties. I also saw a wren for the first time. I also had the chance to really study a pheasant through the binoculars. Obviously I have seen them before but only at a distance - probably when I was in the car!

Those of you who know about birds (and I know many of my subscribers do!) will find this VERY basic but I was like a kid in a toy shop with excitement.

Then it was off to the pub for a very nice Thai curry with my new 'friends'.

Happily when I got home my camera returned to normal. I have no idea what caused it but I will keep an eye on it. Hopefully next month you will get a bird blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.