Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Hi, Biscus!

I know, that's a lame title, isn't it? I've been eying the hibiscus plants at the farm and the grocery store for a couple of weeks and today I finally broke down and bought a small one. I liked the soft yellow colors of this one and have given it a nice spot on the table on our deck where we usually have dinner in the summer. Hoping it will lure the hummingbirds in a little closer, too. They continue to be very shy so far this year.

We've had three beautiful days in a row with temps in the high 70's and up to 82 today. Low humidity, perfect! So, lots of outdoor activities. I'm still working on my little garden and today I redid the watering line - big job but a perfect day to do it. Hubs tackled some mulching out front, including under the birch tree where so many of the birds like to hang out. It is also where the little nest box that the house wrens were busy filling with sticks a few weeks ago hangs. I haven't seen any comings or goings at the nest box, so assumed they'd decided on a different location. So, I went out to look in the box and when I stuck my finger in it (I have NO idea why I did that - don't even ask) a very pissed off mama wren flew out and scolded the hell out of me! I nearly had heart failure when she came flying out of that box, right over my hand. I apologized and removed myself from the scene of the crime. It was then that hubs told me the wrens had been scolding him the entire time he was laying down the mulch under their house. Gee, honey, might have been nice to tell me that BEFORE I stuck my finger in the nest box!! Haha. Well, no harm seems to have been done - I think mama is back on the nest and pop is singing from somewhere in the birch tree. All's well on Tallyho Lane I guess.

Sorry I haven't been commenting the last few days - I'll catch up tomorrow. It's always so much fun to look at pictures from all over the world ...

Tomorrow is yet another trip to the dentist. And, I think you all know how I feel about the dentist... Yep, brain surgery is less frightening to me than the dentist. This time I am having a crown replaced. That can't be fun. Any time the dentist says to plan on being there for two hours, I cringe in fright.

Tonight a rare treat - filet mignon on the grill! We don't eat much beef, but the butcher had some very nice small filets so I though, "why not?" Definitely going to break open a bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir for this... Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.