bikes #5

The shadow of my bike!

Last night I went for just a couple of drinks, which made me really sober compared to everybody else who'd been drinking since the Hearts vs. Hibs football match started in the afternoon. It felt a bit surreal.

this morning, when I woke up, the sun was shining! Lovely lovely day! I thought, well, I've had a pretty stressful week, the weather's been miserable, so I'll just make the most of this and enjoy my day off. So, after doing some cleaning in the flat, I grabbed my bike and went cycling. I cycled all the way from Leith to Balerno and then back! So about 24 miles. I'd been meaning to to this for a while, and I decided that today was the day! It took me 2 hours and 15 mins to get there! I'm not a fast cyclist, as you can see.

Not many major incidents happening apart from having to stop from time to time to remove flying insects from my eyes and getting lost three times. One interesting thing that happened though was that, when I got to Balerno I went to a pub just for a snack and to go to the loo, and this really nice guy started talking to me. we both then went for a walk in the sun. It was a nice pleasant walk and I really enjoyed the conversation. Sometimes it's nice to make friends with a complete stranger, even if it's just briefly. I don't think I'll see him again unless I happen to bump into him again somewhere, but it was nice talking to him.

I'm feeling rather tired after the cycling now, so I don't think I'll do anything else today. It feels really good to have a day for yourself!

Thanks very much for all your comments! I hope you all had a great weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.