fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Grotesques

What a lovely day! At least the afternoon and evening have been lovely ... the morning passed by unnoticed by me. I had a gentle walk around Durham city centre and the banks of the River Wear in the sunshine (woop woop!), and then to Church in the evening. So nice to see lots of people out and about, too.

Again I took a ridiculous number of pictures, but when I saw the carnations jammed in a crack between these faces, I knew which would be my blip. I have no idea who put them there, or why, but I thought they were rather sweet!

The picture is a section from the back of a stone seat on the riverbanks (near to Prebend's Bridge for those in the know). I've always been rather intrigued by it, but the late afternoon sun and the flowers made it particularly striking today. I believe it is a work of art that was commissioned by the Dean & Chapter of Durham Cathedral some decades ago, but don't quote me on this as I haven't found anything to back me up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.