Perfumed

These are the most beautiful lilies I think I have ever had. Barrioboy and Digitaldaze gave them to me last Thursday and I still have buds ready to burst forth into these opulent blooms.
It's just a pity that technology hasn't gone far enough yet for you to scratch the computer screen and sniff their perfume, a perfume which pervades the whole house.

I have had many lilies from supermarkets before and they have been fine, but these are in a league of their own; a much appreciated gift. Thank you.

With the sun having finally broken through the mist, I am going to barrel across the Meadows on my bike this afternoon to put the world in order with my friend o.m.t's and then return home to try and find time to re- read 'Pigeon English' by Stephen Kelman which is tonight's book group read.

It is written from the point of view of an 11 year old boy recently come to London from Ghana. It has resonances with the story of Damilola Taylor, the 10 year old boy from Nigeria who was stabbed to death a few years back as he made his way from school in London to the local library.

Although it is uncomfortable reading at the end, most of the book is full of the unfettered enthusiasm for life that the boy has in the midst of urban deprivation.

However, I won't be surprised if we still have an ongoing discussion about last month's book 'The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes.

The best thing about tonight is I don't have to bake a cake; and our hostess is a great cake baker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.