Enigma

A cow in a tree! This rather hilarious sculpture is to be seen in Cork city where I've been today looking at new cameras! My old one has developed some alarming dots on the lens and they're starting to show up on the images. I wanted to look at a canon powershot G12 but none were available. It's one stage up from the one I've got and I wanted to see how bulky it was. Does anyone have one?

My baby picture has been suspended! Has anyone else's? I thought we were allowed to upload old photos providing a new photo had been taken if you see what I mean. Several others of mine like that have gone by unscathed.

Track 5 How Soon is Now? by The Smiths. probably my favourite band ever - so enigmatic, wise, lyrical, poetic, erudite, hilarious, philosophical comforting, and so difficult to chose which song to go for. I chose this in the end as the guitar playing is astonishing and Morrisey's voice and lyrics sublime. Who can't remember as a teenager this dismal feeling:
There's a club, if you'd like to go
You could meet somebody who really loves you
So you go, and you stand on your own
And you leave on your own
And you go home
And you cry
And you want to die
We are all admirers of the The Smiths in our family and they have provided much solace in times of crisis. Several intense and emotional evenings have been made bearable with a bottle of Boru vodka (Irish and very good) accompanied by The Smiths. So much so that now when someone puts on the Smiths we all go 'uh oh' and fear the worst!
Two years ago we went to a Halloween party at Sheila's and son number 1 was with us. Himself and I went dressed as Dracula and his bride , naturally, and Son number 1 was a zombie - he is an expert at zombie makeup and very scary. The party was part hosted by two very charming gay boys from New York who were wwoofing - also zombified for the occasion. Anyway the booze was flowing and some hours into the party I found myself dancing with my son and the two charming gay boys to this very track - all roaring out the lyrics and son number 1 doing a very impressive zombie dance. All was good until we hit the fresh air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.