MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Driven

It was quite the morning!  I waited for an auto at the hospital entrance, and two showed up at once.  A woman was driving one of them - I have seen them driving before, but it is not common.  I decided to ride with her, but this apparently violated some auto-driver-ethics, as she had "jumped the line" in front of the other drivers at the stand (including the other driver who simultaneously arrived at the hospital gate.)

Her two daughters piled in with me (they were being dropped at school) and the second driver, enraged at having his 200 rupees stolen from him, chased us down the road.  They screamed at each other in Tamil, and he finally cut us off.  At this point we stopped, my driver got out, and a 15 minute screaming match ensued, complete with a crowd of onlookers and a few other auto drivers alternating between restraining the man or holding back my driver.

All steam released, she got back into the auto, and we continued our drive into town.

Her name was Sumathy and she had severe burn scars from her neck down.  She has been driving for 12 years and proudly showed me her license (when I finally found someone to translate her Tamil - she spoke no English at all.)

This was all before 9:30am!

As an aside: I am playing around with photo signatures.  This is my first attempt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.