Hawkeye

There are days when blips just fly into your lap. Literally.

Meet Fern. She's the one on the right, A 3 month old Harris Hawk owned by Gregor. That's him on the left. I managed to catch them today as they were out for their morning constitutional. We never normally bat an eyelid when our neighbours walk along the hill with their pets, but this one is just a wee bit different. The old fenceposts along the track act as great perches for Fern as she practices her swooping and aiming. The seagulls squawked and circled and dived as she moved in for each shred of venison she was breakfasting on. She squawked a warning at me as I moved in to take a few close ups but that was more because she thought I was after the meat. She was quite happy to let me snap away with the camera and Gregor was most helpful in posing and getting her to swoop into the frame for some nice action shots.

And, you know what the icing on the cake was to all this? The whole thing took place with us all standing on Hawkhill. Perfect.

If I wasn't in such awe at how this magnificent beast was performing a matter of inches away from me I might've even got a few more of them in focus.

Hopefully I'll get another chance sometime soon.

A big thanks to this pair for being so accommodating today, it was superb to stop and chat and watch.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.