Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Steam Gala

Today was the last day of the Great Central Railway Winter Steam Gala at Loughborough.  Quite a few locos were in steam including this, a Southern Railway 'King Arthur' Class No. 777 'Sir Lamiel'.

I had a ride on the comparatively recently restored Art Deco observation car, and also on an old 1960's diesel multiple unit, the sight and sound of which immediately took me back to my youth when it meant a trip to the seaside at Saltburn for the day!  It also reminded me of one particular journey I had on one of them, but I'm afraid that one doesn't bear repeating on a public forum!

I took over 230 photos during the day but I was only satisfied with three of them and not really over the moon with any.  Wrong light, wrong angle, too many people in the way and annoyingly, most of the engines going tender first when I was waiting for the shot.  But then, I'm sure other people managed good shots.  I'll just have to keep trying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.