Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Small Moments of Connection

Dear Diary,

I have always loved how you are drawn to images that speak to whatever is on your mind or in your heart at the moment.  This tiny feather, from a mourning dove I think, had come to land on a pile of snow just outside my window.  I made a photograph of it just before a gust of wind blew it away.  When I processed the image it seemed as if it were in a cloud filled sky rather than on a pile of snow.  A quotation from one of my favorite Christian Mystics, Hildegard of Bingen,  popped into my mind...

Thus am I, a feather on the breath of God.

As we gear up for the third snow storm in seven days this morning, my mind has been turning to monastic things after my last two posts.  I keep a heavy and old lock on my side table where I write every morning with the word STABILITY stamped on it in big bold letters.  It was in my grandfather's box of keys that I inherited.

There is something to be said for staying put but when I do travel I like to take Hildegard's advice although I probably won't take it as literally as the early Celtic monks who would set out in their tiny boats with no rudder or oars and let the wind take them wherever it wished.  Still, I've always had a secret desire to just pack a bag and go to the airport and take the first flight I could find to wherever it was going...without reservations or plans.  Seems like it would be quite an adventure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.