Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Brethren... and Sisters

Not much time for walking or photography today (so much to do, so little time - it's called 'retirement') but was in Falkirk for a short time this afternoon and remembered a fine building I had spotted a while ago - it has been there for over a century, it's just that I had never looked up at it properly - and thought I'd capture that for my daily Blip.

It's a Masonic Temple - Lodge Callendar No. 588 it says on the door - and an internet search states that the building was opened in 1906. It is a grand building in terms of its design, and the edifice and windows contain elements and symbols usually publicly associated with Freemasonry. Maybe on a brighter day and when I have more time, I'll stop and have a closer look at the fine architecture.

I was amused by the fact that there was a shop called 'Sisters' below the place where the brethren meet. Just my sense of humour I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.