The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Crowborough

I wasn't planning any blips for a few days yet, but when I saw the crow perched on the telegraph pole with the pre-dawn massif of Ingleborough in the background, I had to take a photograph.  I find crow silhouettes irresistible, and I love all the corvid species.  For me they are the most interesting birds with their intelligence and resourcefulness.  Here they thrive on the land of Arnside Tower Farm, despite the presence of a pheasant shoot over the adjacent woodlands.  Maybe that says something about an enlightened approach to the management of a bird that is so often treated as winged vermin.

My trip south went well.  The Old Flyer was pleased to see me, and he was in better shape and spirits than I expected.  He is doing so much better for the 1:1 care that my sister has arranged for him.  As always, as I drive nearly three hundred miles back, I wish that he was nearer and that a trip to see him didn't feel like an expedition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.