veeman60

By veeman60

Skateboarder

So after many years of using first DVDs and then graduating to a collection of external drives for backing up my images, this last week I upgraded to a Drobo set up.  In doing so, I've been able (forced?) to go back and rearrange the images in my Lightroom catalog.  In this endeavor, I've run across some old images that I've been motivated to re-edit with the new techniques I've learned and new software I've accumulated.  The above image is from a 2011 Kelby, WorldWide Photowalk in Michigan.  A photog friend and I were walking through a lakeside town for the event when we came across these kids practicing 'getting air' with their skateboards in the alley behind main street.  For this shot I laid down on the sidewalk to get a better angle of them jumping off a porch.  Being a old sports photographer, I now regret not shooting this at a high enough shutter speed to freeze the action. I remember, that at the time, I was more interested in getting the shot of him at the highest point and watching my Histogram as to not lose detail in the shadows behind him.   Live, shoot a lot and learn I guess!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.