Waiting

This morning Kiwidino and I flew to Rotovegas (well, Rotorua) for our annual mountain bike mission to the Whakarewarewa Forest. It's one of my favourite places to ride.

Up at 5,30am, at the airport by 6.15, on the plan at 7, in Vegas by 8.30.

To the motel, unpack bikes, grab a coffee and then onto the shuttles. Unfortunately KD had some bike issues and had to go and rent one for the w/e, so I sneaked a couple of runs in. The around 11 we launched properly into the day.

Seven runs (for me) later we were well and truly knackered. It might sound easy taking a bus up a hill and then riding down, but my average heart rate for the day was 152, max 182 and we rode nearly 30km. Add a couple of crashes into the mix and my body was well deserving of the beer we had at the local brewpub, aptly named Brew.

Back to the motel for takeout Thai, watching a repeat of the videos we'd taken, and then an early night. Very very tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.