In My World

By JoanneInOz

Mono Monday # 54 ~ China

Many years ago, a dear friend of mine visited some of the Asian countries. I know that one of the countries she visited was Korea, but as to the other countries, well, the years have passed, and so has she, and I simply don't remember.

While she was away, I learned that my first baby was on his way, so I had to wait patiently for her return to tell her my exciting news. It was also an exciting time for my friend, as she had gone to Korea to collect her new son, a little two year old Korean boy, who would be a baby brother to her two daughters, and the first playmate of my own son, when he was born.

My friend, Chris, brought me back four brass Chinese characters, which I have had displayed on my wall, in whichever home I have lived in, during the last thirty years since receiving them. 

For many years I believed the characters to represent health, wealth, peace and happiness, but when I met a Chinese man, about fifteen years ago, he told me that although the characters were indeed Chinese, there were no specific words in the English language, to translate them to.

The closest he could translate for me into English was Luck, Long Life, Fame, and Double Happiness, although he wasn't completely happy with those English words either! 

The character I have chosen for today's theme is Double Happiness, which I believe to be the most meaningful of the four characters.

Entries this week can relate to both China the country, and the china in your cupboard, so I think it should be an easy task for everyone. Don't forget to tag your Mono Monday entries with mm54 this week. I have checked, and the tag doesn't seem to be doing its thing again, so hopefully that will be rectified soon. Meanwhile, leave me a comment when you have added your entry, just in case the tag thingy is totally on the blink!

Happy Mono Monday. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.