Determined

Yesterday, it was our intention to travel back to Auckland after dinner, which also meant after all the traffic. In the end we decided that we had enough time before my appointment with my dentist (he has been my dentist for 45 years) to stay another night and come back in the morning. My morning run was the full length of Snells Beach and back. Nothing really grabbed me.

Dentist, admin and then dermatologist. The "joys" of being old enough to need reassurance, and/or things done. One filling from Clive; a few bursts of nitrogen from the dermatologist (otherwise a clear report).

Then the two lads and I took S to her appointment with our dentist, and then we spent the appointment time playing on the climbing stuff at the playground in the Wynyard Quarter (them). I was a little taken aback that three of four adults in a party with infants, used the swings that Mr H at 10 is deemed too big for. I merely took a few photos, which included a good shot of a landing juvenile black backed gull, and the CK Stead poem on silos.

Back home after collecting the makings of a family meal, and I needed to post some letters. Walked along Great North Road to the Post Box, which I reached before the collection; just. Shortly before the post boxes, a few metres down McKelvie Street, was May. Sitting reading. I posted my letters came back and asked her if she minded if I took her photograph, sitting there reading.

Somewhat surprised; nevertheless she agreed, while saying she doesn't "take good photos". I then introduced myself and explained about blipfoto, and that a number of others, and I, take photos of people reading books.She was concerned enough to shift some of the rubbish scattered by where she was sitting; on a ledge outside a building.

The building has a room which is used once a week for an AA meeting. While waiting for it to start May was sitting outside reading a very well used book setting out the guiding principles of AA. She told me that she intends to achieve and maintain sobriety (this time).

Having taken three photos, I showed her my immediate choice (this one) and she approved, and looked pleased. I wished her well and went on, full of admiration for her determination, and somewhat sad when I thought of her isolation.

Reader: May
Book:  Alcoholics Anonymous (The Big Book)
Place: on the street outside the meeting room
Drink: none (the half drunk plastic bottle of orange was not hers)

I have done nothing to this after what the camera itself did in turning it into a jpeg. I know its a bit dark. So is her life, but as with her feet, light will come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.