misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Goldfinches in the Lilac Bush

If this were spring the brighter goldfinches would be sitting surrounded by bright green lilac buds or even flowers. even yesterday the lilacs were only bare branches. In the night I think I heard a rain falling. All the bare branches of the bushes and trees are frosted with snow today as our next big snowfall arrives. 
I took this photo through the window so it is not too clear. The finches who are wearing their winter feathers do not show up too well. They are waiting their turns at the feeder.
It appears that we only have snow and ever greater snowfalls this late winter. Yet, when I saw the surprise at first light of the frosted winter scene within this snow bubble I live in, I was delighted once again at the variety with which Nature dresses herself.


Observation: the only people not enjoying the beauty of snow are those having to drive out in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.