The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Anemophily

The ribwort plantain is a plant of subtle beauty which is at its most attractive when its stamens emerge from the inflorescence. The strategy here is wind pollination, no dependence on insects, so no need for showy petals. The long stalked stamens drop their pollen into the air to waft to neighbouring plants and those further away.

I went for a walk around Gait Barrows first thing this morning in search of a Duke. I had no luck, but will keep trying over the next few days.

There was a lovely sunset tonight, it was tempting to blip yet another. But you can have too much of a good thing. Thank you for all the hearts and stars for yesterday's. I'm even further behind with comments than usual, I will catch up. I will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.