Disaster Recovery...

You know when you see people opening and walking into those old war bunkers.  Today I went to my works war bunker.  This is one of the rooms that are used as disaster recovery so in the event of our main buildings having to be evacuated for extended periods of time, the critical operations can go on from here.

It had a load of these old looking machinery type things lined along the wall, there were old odd keyboards, massive industrial scanners and I even found an actual floppy 5 1/4 inch disk along with some sort of suitcase thing that I can only imagine was some sort of mainframe interfacing device.

These reminded me of the scene from the second Matrix film where they are talking about the machinery in Zion that powers it, cleans the water and air.  The leader doesn't need to know how it works, just feel safe in the knowledge that it does and someone knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.